Where’s Z-Ro?

z-ro

The above was my first reaction to the Passion of the Weiss’ Top 50 Rap Albums of the 00’s and it came as I was reading the introduction to the list. Jeff Weiss explains that the list is far from perfect since it skewers towards East Coast boom bap and leaves “Devin the Dude, Boosie, and Z-Ro…woefully overlooked.” Despite this frank admission, I couldn’t help but think, as I read through the list, “Let The Truth Be Told is better than that album” or “Vaudeville Villain over It Is What It Is?” It’s the nature of the beast when it comes to lists like this, especially when they overlook artists you can’t imagine rap music without.

But for young rap fans, lists like these can function as bibles. Earlier in his introduction, Weiss mentions purchasing The Source’s 100 Greatest Hip Hop Albums of All Time issue and pouring over every entry. I myself experienced something similar when I found a beat up copy of Spin’s 90 Best Records of the 90s on a bus. I can’t tell you how many times I read and re-read all the entries on the list, marveling at the descriptions of the records. I think what’s so easily forgotten in the rush to declare music criticism dead is that great music writing can change the way you listen to music. Too often the belief that words can only hint at the glorious power of music reigns supreme and we ignore the fact that writing about music has the power to create a context in which we listen to it.

For rap bloggers (and I include myself in this group even if I don’t write exclusively about rap), a list like POTW’s is going to seem redundant. We’re all well aware of most of these records (save for maybe the Masta Ace albums) and have already formed opinions about them. But for young rap fans, reading about all these great (and not-so-great) records is going to be like entering a whole new world of music, populated by fascinating characters and subcultures they’ve never heard of. And as opposed to a list on Amazon, the descriptions of the albums aren’t going to be limited to “This is straight fire!” There is a lot of great writing on the POTW list and I’m not just saying that because I’m friendly with a few of the writers.

Of course defending the list on the grounds that it’s a great introduction to young fans runs smack back into the question of what it omits. Shouldn’t young fans be exposed to Let The Truth Be Told and the stone cold greatness of “1 Night” and “Help Me Please”? And where is BlaqKout or E-40’s Ghetto Report Card (screw what anybody says–that’s a good album)? Shouldn’t new fans be exposed to these records within the context of a “great records” list? Because I think that’s partly what critics of the list like Andrew Noz and Brandon Soderberg are arguing. By omitting artists like Z-Ro and E-40 from the list, the message becomes: These artists are good, but they’re not Top 50 good. I know that’s not what was intended by Weiss and Co., but it’s definitely something to think about.

Anyway, for those interested (and since I really just want to make the goddamn list), here’s my top 50 records of the 00’s:

1. Let The Truth Be Told- Z-Ro

2. The College Dropout- Kanye West

3. Purple Haze – Cam’Ron

4. Diplomatic Immunity -The Diplomats

5. Guess Who’s Back – 50 Cent

6. I’m Still Livin – Z-Ro

7. The Private Press- DJ Shadow

8. The Inspiration – Young Jeezy

9. Donuts- J Dilla

10. Madvillainy – Madvillain

11. Get Rich or Die Trying – 50 Cent

12. Tha Carter 2 – Lil Wayne

13. Shades of Blue – Madlib

14. Late Registration – Kanye West

15. It Is What It Is – ABN

16. Da Drought 3 – Lil Wayne

17. The Pretty Toney Album – Ghostface Killah

18. Thug Motivation 101 – Young Jeezy

19. Diplomatic Immunity 2 – The Diplomats

20. Be – Common

21. Run The Road -Various Artists

22. The B. Coming – Beanie Sigel

23. Since We Last Spoke – RJD2

24. Supreme Clientele – Ghostface Killah

25. Assholes by Nature – ABN

26. Urban Legend – T.I.

27. Straight Outta Cashville – Young Buck

28. The Fix – Scarface

29. Stankonia – Outkast

30. Fishscale – Ghostface Killah

31. Graduation – Kanye West

32. Just Tryin to Live – Devin the Dude

33. Underground Kingz – UGK

34. BlaQKout – DJ Quick and Kurupt

35. Ghetto Report Card – E-40

36. Emeritus – Scarface

37. Tha Carter III – Lil Wayne

38. Waitin to Inhale – Devin the Dude

39. Hip Hop Is Dead – Nas

40. The Return of the Mac – Prodigy

41. Tha Blue Carpet Treatment – Snoop Dogg

42. Deeper Than Rap – Rick Ross

43. Fantastic Damage – El-P

44. Beat Kondukta Vol. 3-4 – Madlib

45. Los Angeles- Flying Lotus

46. Tronic – Black Milk

47. Murder Was the Case – Gucci Mane

48. King – T.I.

49. The Cold Vein – Cannibal Ox

50. The Black Album – Jay-Z

13 Responses to “Where’s Z-Ro?”

  1. quan Says:

    Great post. But I don’t think Noz and Brandon are arguing with what’s on the list so much as arguing with the process of how the list was made (using what’s on the list as an indicator of the process). Basically, Weiss does do a good job of kinda apologizing for the bias in the intro. But then its format of polling a bunch of different people still creates this “facade of consensus” (Brandon’s words via Twitter) and reinforces the list’s validity as a rap bible rather than just the tastes of a group of very like-minded friends. Weiss’ omission of Z-Ro was sorta fair because I guess no one voted for him but it was unfair because he was asking the wrong people in the first place.

    RE: your list, wasn’t Funcrusher Plus from back in 1997? And by Company Flow and not just El-P? Or did he release a solo recently called Funcrusher Plus too?

  2. DocZeus Says:

    Based on the deafening roar that many people have had about Masta Ace’s inclusion on the list twice, I’m wondering how many people have actually heard “Disposable Arts” and “A Long Hot Summer” who are complaining about its presence on the list. I mean those are two of the most instantly likable, well-produced, well rapped, fun records of the decade. Its not unaccessible, art rap like Edan or MF Doom. Its not overly bitter like say post-Listening Little Brother. Its not maudlin. Its not overly sentimental for old school hip hop.

    I mean if anybody is deserving of a Bun B-style critical re-evaluation and mainstream revival, its Masta Ace. He’s like one of the most affable dudes on the planet and continues to pump out great music. He’s been making quality music for 20 years and has NEVER gotten its due props.

    Anyway, this is the type of criticism that I appreciate. its constructive. It doesn’t try to create a false schism through political debate and it offers an alternative to whats being given.

    Although, I would admit if the situation was reversed and I saw two Z-Ro records on the list over Masta Ace, I would have much the same reaction. Z-Ro? Really?

  3. danielkrow Says:

    Quan-

    Dude, you’re right. Funcrusher Plus is the Company Flow record–I meant Fantastic Damage. I suppose there could be a problem with the “consensus” aspect of the list (though Noz was polled to give some diversity, and based on the individual lists it seems like they’re not all in agreement about what ended up on the list i.e. four Doom records) but I think the list still stands up as a pretty good intro to 00’s rap. As much as there are records I wish ended up on the list, it’s not like I wouldn’t want somebody checking out Madvillainy or The Fix or if they haven’t already. I think we’re all so caught up thinking “Everyone knows these records!” when that’s not the case at all.

    Zeus-

    I wasn’t hating on Masta Ace, more just pointing out that I’d never heard of those two records. I’m more than willing to listen to those albums, but I’m curious if you’re dismissing Z-Ro because you’ve heard his records and don’t like them or if you’re just thinking he can’t be good based on other factors. Honestly, I can’t comprehend anybody not liking him as an artist, but that’s just coming from a place of crazy fandom.

  4. Joseph Says:

    This is exactly what I wanted to see the second I started reading the initial POTW post/list. That whole thing where everyone rated their Top 25 Rap Albums of All-Time on their own blogs thing (that I think Weiss was trying to stir w/this one too) happened right before I started reading/writing blogs so I felt like I missed out on something cool. I hope more lists start coming out..

    Anyways, this is truly an awesome list. I’m all invigorated after reading it.. like mind racing, feverishly wishlisting albums I haven’t yet heard.

    PS, DocZeus’s taste in rap couldn’t be further from mine, but I’m with him on Masta Ace’s ‘Disposable Arts’. ‘A Long Hot Summer’ is not too good and suffers from the concept and guest appearances, but ‘Disposable Arts’ is solid and well worth checking out.

  5. Joseph Says:

    Also, big kudos on having ‘Hip Hop Is Dead’ in there. Few people seem to dig it as much as I do for some reason.

  6. danielkrow Says:

    Glad the list got you excited about hearing new records and rediscovering older ones. As much as I find some of the sentiments on Hip Hop Is Dead to be obnoxious, it’s certainly the strongest Nas album since Illmatic as far as lyrics, and most importantly, beat selection. I think all the hatred towards the concept of the album overshadowed how solid it is.

  7. DocZeus Says:

    What I’m saying is that Z-Ro is just as a fringe character to me as Ace would be to others. Its not like Z-Ro was burning up the charts or pumping out hit records. Perhaps, I haven’t spend enough time with his. I’ll check out “Let The Truth Be Told” when I get a chance.

  8. AaronM Says:

    This compelled me to check “Let The Truth Be Told”. Thank you for that.
    Pretty solid list, Daniel. I put Los Angeles on mine, too.

  9. danielkrow Says:

    Aaron-

    Glad the list has got you interested in Let The Truth Be Told. I think that’s the value of a “personal” list–it’s not about what had the so most impact or whatever, but just what you considered the best rap album of the decade, and for me that’s that album.

  10. j-dawg the hogg Says:

    what it do z-ro you a ugly lil mutha fuka u look like a horse visit me in acuz home bitch

  11. ERIKA Says:

    Z’RO is the best rapper alive period. I have been a fanatic over his music for the past 8-years, CD’s, DVD’s, mix tapes, under grounds, interviews, you name it. Texas is slept on a lot when it comes to the rap game , the lyricist we have that do this daily and live rap. Artist like Z’ro, Devin the Dude, Lil Ke Ke, the entire SUC, Bun-B, Boosie, Webbie, ESG and all the late greats like Hawk, Fat Pat, Big Moe, Pimp C, people I listen to daily, that are not given their credit in the rap game. For the south these guys are who it’s about. Yea u got ya main stream artists like Wayne, TI, Luda, and whoever else, but they aint real like these cats are real, they not making the CD’s that talk to you, they making tracks that are going to sell and appeal to what the mainstream fans want. All the guys listed above, CD’s talk to you and they coming raw, uncut, straight out the pot every time. Hands down “Most powerful lyricist in the world on a low budget label”, Z’ro he aint got no competition cause he kill em every way possible.

  12. erika Says:

    oh yea j-dawg hogg whoever u r, u a hatin ass bitch, get ya money and ya weight up hoe, looks and all i guarantee you wish you were in Z-Ro’s spot pussy ass mark.

  13. Facebook Password Breaker Says:

    More than just a game; it is a lifestyle for many players.

    Don’t forget to reward your loyal customers through promotions
    and deals. Create a facebook app by following the link apply the created app
    id and secret key, enable the component setting and continue configuring
    by logging into your facebook profile.

Leave a comment