The Right Track(s): Caspa and Rusko’s “Power Shower” and Jay-Z’s “Ghetto Techno”

cr3

Caspa and Rusko – Power Shower

The only reason Fader called this track “quasi-misogynist” is that the combination of a sampled woman’s voice talking about a “proper shower” and a grinding bass noise that sounds like crickets being tortured can’t help but summon up some pretty scary ideas about what exactly a “power shower” is. Caspa and Rusko could technically be called dubsteppers, but this track seems to borrow more from industrial music or doom metal than anything else. I imagine tracks like these stem from the juvenile (in the best sense) impulse to create the gnarliest sound possible, attaching it to a beat almost as an afterthought, like “Well, we still have to make sure people can dance to this.” Like an ugly-awesome metal riff that makes you screw up your face as a salute, “Power Shower” is the fuckin’ truth.

Jay-Z – Ghetto Techno

Or, Jay-Z does Rod Lee’s “Dance My Pain Away.” Are we seriously, in 2009, still bristling at the word “techno”? If the song title was different, this song would easily be 50% more popular. Why do so many listeners need to hear techno or rave or house music filtered through another genre before they’ll accept it?  Because G-Side spit some gangsta talk over “Speed of Sound” or “Run Thingz,” that makes it OK to enjoy those crazy great rave synths, but subtract the rapping and it’s “gay” or cheesy. Talk about the love that dare not speak its name.

Anyway, “Ghetto Techno” is clearly supposed to be a Baltimore Club homage, and besides the fact that an ex-CEO multi-millionaire is trying to play the party-hungry working stiff, it equips itself pretty well. The bouncy synths on the verse have that roller rink sheen that Timbaland used on “The Way I Am” (was that on Pitchfork’s top 500? If not, it should have been) and the “throw a shot back” part has a random guy yelling “hey” embedded in the beat that could be Lil Jon yelling “Yeah!”  on a club song. What’s not to like? There’s nothing here that hasn’t been used in countless incredibly successful R & B songs, but the spectre of techno and “cheesy” dance music looms overhead, scaring everyone off.

8 Responses to “The Right Track(s): Caspa and Rusko’s “Power Shower” and Jay-Z’s “Ghetto Techno””

  1. Joseph Says:

    Yes! I fucking love “Proper Shower” I’m always screwing my face up when I hear this.
    Did you also listen to that Borgore track they put up? There’s some questionable foreign-but-funny (laughing with, not at) rapping on some of his tracks, but overall I really dig his EP and mix.

  2. danielkrow Says:

    I just heard “Saturday Night (Gorestep)”. It’s even uglier sounding than “Power Shower”! I’m downloading that Ice Cream Man mix right now.

  3. Joseph Says:

    It could get very gimmicky, but I all ready like -step as a suffix to add to funny genre names almost as much as -core.

  4. danielkrow Says:

    Gorestep sounds very cool, but it seems like the combo of metal and dubstep might be really lame and contrived in the wrong hands. The other problem with the step suffix is that any genre with step in its name has to be at least vaguely related to 2 Step Garage, whereas core can be used to describe pretty much anything.

  5. Flame Says:

    haha, check this “Gotta Feeling” spoof..

    90’s ghetto dub: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hwV-xbutVmA

    /Flame

  6. Hyper City Mega Station Says:

    Hyper City Mega Station…

    […]The Right Track(s): Caspa and Rusko’s “Power Shower” and Jay-Z’s “Ghetto Techno” « The Party's Crashing Us[…]…

  7. Techno Music Says:

    This layout is is excellent. I’ve been a very long time reader and I thoroughly enjoy the articles. I was thinking that I would share this collection of songs that I like on Spotify that I believe everybody here would like. http://spoti.fi/2v7a0MA

  8. Hey! Says:

    I like the blog and I think it truly enhances the techno society. I wanted to share this tech house playlist that I listen to on Spotify. http://spoti.fi/2v7a0MA I think you and your readers would like it.

Leave a comment